Nominations are open for next year’s Arthur Svensson prize

Industri Energi has the pleasure of inviting representatives and employees of trade unions worldwide to nominate candidates for next year’s award of the Arthur Svensson International Prize for trade union rights. The deadline is the 1st of January 2024.

The prize amount is NOK 500,000 (approx. EUR/USD 47.500). NOK 250,000 goes directly to the prize winner and an equal amount will be spent on projects related to the prize winner.  

Since 2010 the Svensson prize has been awarded to persons and organizations that have worked predominately to promote trade union rights and organizing around the world. Amongst the previous winners we find leaders and activists of the teachers union in Bahrain, the Miners union in Mexico, textile workers in Cambodia, health workers in Liberia, independent trade unions in Belarus and Kazakhstan and many more. 

The International Domestic Workers Federation and their general secretary Elizabeth Tang received the prize this year.

The prizewinners of 2023 visiting Oslo. Shirley Price (Left), Espen Løken and Lita Adrggaini (Right). Foto: Egil Brandsøy.

It is best to start the nomination process as early as possible. The nominees will be judged by what extent the person or organization has promoted union rights and/or union organizing in the world. 

All representatives and employees of Norwegian trade unions, representatives and employees of trade unions around the world affiliated to confederations that are a part of the International Trade Union Congress (ITUC) or the Global Unions have the right to nominate candidates. Also, past recipients of the prize and Members of the boards of organisations that have received the prize in the past can nominate a candidate. A prize committee composed of seven people from the Norwegian and international trade union movement finally decide who is awarded the prize.

You can send in your nominations using the following form, or nominations can also be sent with attachments to

You can read more about the prize here.